Weekend Review

October 2, 2010, Saturday

Plan: Long run (21.5 K)
Route: SM Bicutan to Bonifacio High Street (BHS) and back

Part of my preparation for my first Pikermi would be doing a long run – at least simulate a 21-K. So I plotted a route in dailymile (DM) and also from the suggestion of one runner, Jerry S., I tried on mapping a route that would start from SM Bicutan to BHS and back.

I attempted several times to do this alone, but I just feel lazy and afraid to push through with the plan. Perhaps I was nervous to not being able to finish. So I invited some running friends (Deng and Noel) to join me conquer the route.

SM Bicutan

We all met at our starting point, did stretching, and off we went at 6PM. The weather was cold and I think perfect for the long run (I wished it doesn’t rain).

Made strategic pit stops prior to this day but unfortunately we had to stop several times on the first 3 kilometers and make sure every one is doing fine.

On reaching Sales bridge, we already saw the skyscrapers of Makati and that means we are near BHS! But I know that was just the start of the challenge.

Upon entering Fort Bonifacio, we were faced with mostly uphill and uneven roads. The sun already showed his face upon us but was still shy and decided to hide in the clouds once in a while.

We reached BHS and we settled there for a while, went to the bathroom, freshened up a bit, I did a little stretching and made sure my legs aren’t angry at me yet.

Bonifacio High Street

We were on our way back and we decided to refill our hydration bottles at 711 in McKinley. At the 18.32-K mark, it started to rain so we had to find a shade and wait. After a few minutes, we just decided to ride a cab and go home since there were no signs that the rain would stop.

McKinley Hill

What I learned from this long run:

  • Start early. I think it would be better to start around 5AM.
  • Bring energy gels. Thanks to Deng for buying me Hammer gels last Friday. I think it did help a lot to battle stress, gain energy, push more, and have a fast recovery.
  • In doing long runs, I do it best with buddies.
  • No MP3s.
  • Last but not the least I realized that my trainings/preparations were all worth it. Well, haven’t tried it on actual race, but I guess if not because of the rain at the 18.32-K mark, I can still survive the remaining 2+ K with enough energy to go even further.

October 3, 2010, Sunday

Did a 5K ‘recovery run’ and a 10K leisure bike in the afternoon. At the same time registered for our village’s run called “Takbo para kay Maria.” It is for the benefit of the Youth Ministry in our Parish. The registration fee was fairly cheap. This is not a race. So, I guess, I just have to run at my “kwentuhan” pace and enjoy. I’m not sure though how big the event is. All I know is we will receive a shirt at the finish line. They said the distance is only 3K. But upon checking it on DM, I think the route would be around 4-5K (the OC in me again).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment